Mycroft Masada is a faith leader who moved to the Washington DC area from hir lifelong home of Boston MA in January 2014; a founding member of TransFaith’s National Council, steering committee member of TransEpiscopal, and former board member of Congregation Am Tikva. Mycroft is called to work for social justice at the intersections of faith, LGBTQI+ and fat communities, and is a writer and artist. Zie is partnered with Julia McCrossin, the mas(s)culine fatshion blogger, and they co-parent a dogter.

Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | My artwork (stationery, jewelry & more)

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Queering Fat Embodiment #QFE

TODAY at 4:00 EST -- the global book launch of Queering Fat Embodiment, edited by Cat PauséJackie Wykes, and Sam Murray; part of Ashgate Publishing's Queer Interventions series.  #QFE

Facebook event text:

"Cat Pausé, Jackie Wykes, and Sam Murray are excited to announce the publication of our edited book, Queering Fat Embodiment, as part of Ashgate’s Queer Interventions series.

-----

A global book launch will be held on Google Hangouts at the following local times:

Friday 20 June, 2014:
Singapore 4 am
Melbourne 6 am
Auckland 8 am

Thursday 19 June, 2014:
San Francisco 1 pm
Dallas 3 pm
Toronto 4 pm
New York 4 pm
London 9 pm

The link for the event is: https://plus.google.com/events/chu9oefslau61mb8id2uanrmtl4

------

Shedding light on the ways in which fat embodiment is lived, experienced, regulated and (re)produced across a range of cultural sites and contexts, Queering Fat Embodiment destabilises established ideas about fat bodies, making explicit the intersectionality of fat identities. It represents a paradigm shift within fat studies, challenging the field of study which has primarily reproduced a white, able-bodied, heteronormative subjectivity in its analyses.

Contributing authors include Katie LeBesco, Robyn Longhurst, Jenny Lee, Margitte Kristjansson, Stefanie Jones, Kimberly Dark, Zoë Meleo-Erwin, James Burford, Sam Orchard, and Scott Beattie. This text is a must have for anyone interested in fat studies, fat politics, queer theory, and embodiment.

-----

The editors will be conducting a social media book tour.
If you would like a guest post, excerpt, interview, live reading, or something else, please let
us know by completing this form: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/6WB3B2S

Please use the tag #QFE when referencing the book on social media.

-----

Queering Fat Embodiment is available in hard cover and e-book formats and can be purchased directly from Ashgate (http://www.ashgate.com/isbn/9781409465430 – online orders automatically receive a 10% discount), as well as Amazon, Book Depository, and other outlets.

Journalists and academics may request a review copy from the publisher via Debbie Fattore (dfattore@ashgatepublishing.com)."